سيظل الباب مفتوحًا للتوقيع على التعهدات المفتوحة حتى 31 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2020

جو مناسب للتغيير: التمهيد لاعتماد ميثاق إنساني للمناخ والبيئة

2020 أكتوبر
بقلم كاثرين – لون غرايسون
مستشارة السياسات، اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر

تيسا كيلي
 منسقة شؤون تغيّر المناخ، الاتحاد الدولي لجمعيات الصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر 


موجز

بلغ عدد الأشخاص الذين يحتاجون إلى المساعدة الإنسانية بسبب أزمة المناخ اليوم مستوى غير مسبوق. وبالنظر إلى تضرر أكثر من 51.6 مليون شخص بصورة مباشرة من الفيضانات أو الجفاف أو العواصف، فإن من المهم للغاية أن يستجيب القطاع الإنساني وأن يقترح حلولا عاجلة. وفي هذا الصدد، بيّنت الحركة الدولية للصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر الدور الهام الذي تقوم به على أرض الواقع في الحد من المخاطر والتصدي لآثار تغير المناخ. وقد بيّنت شبكة الصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر، عبر مناسبات مهمة مثل المؤتمر الدولي الثالث والثلاثين في العام الماضي، ومؤتمر قمة الصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر الأخير بشأن المناخ الذي عُقد يومي 9 و10 سبتمبر، تأهبها لتوقع الصدمات المناخية والمخاطر قبل وقوعها. وبما أن الظواهر “غير المسبوقة” أصبحت الوضع الطبيعي الجديد، فمن الأهمية بمكان اتخاذ إجراءات مناسبة للتكيف مع المناخ الآن أكثر من أي وقت مضى.


مدونة

لقد شهدنا وقع تغيّر المناخ طوال عام 2020، مع انتشار جائحة “كوفيد-19” مما أثر بشكل كبير على صحة الناس وحياتهم. ولم تتوقف أزمة المناخ على الإطلاق في خضم الجائحة متخذة أشكال عديدة ما بين زوابع في المحيط الهادئ، وأعاصير مدارية في آسيا، وعواصف في الأمريكتين، وموجات حر وحرائق غابات في أوروبا وكاليفورنيا، وفيضانات في أفريقيا، ولم تترك لنا خيارا سوى معالجة الآثار الإنسانية لكلا الأزمتين في وقت واحد. وتبين الأبحاث  التي أجراها مؤخراً مركز المناخ التابع للاتحاد الدولي أن ما لا يقل عن 51.6 مليون شخص على الصعيد العالمي قد تضرروا بشكل مباشر من الفيضانات أو الجفاف أو العواصف وجائحة “كوفيد-19”. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تشير التقديرات إلى أن أكثر من 430 مليون شخص في جميع أنحاء العالم تعرضوا لموجة حرّ شديدة خلال جائحة “كوفيد-19”.

يجرّ تغير المناخ مخاطر ويفاقمها ويؤثر في جميع أبعاد حياة الناس، انطلاق من سلامتهم، ومرورا بصحتهم، وانتهاء بإمكانية حصولهم على الماء أو الغذاء، إلى سبل عيشهم. وغالبا ما تجابه المجتمعات الأكثر ضعفاً هذه الظروف مباشرة. ولذلك، انتقل تغير المناخ من كونه مسألة “بيئية” بحتة إلى قضية تستوجب وتتطلب عملا إنسانيا عاجلا. وفي العام الماضي، كشف تحليل الاتحاد الدولي أن عدد الأشخاص الذين يحتاجون إلى المساعدة الإنسانية الدولية المنقذة للأرواح قد يتضاعف بحلول عام 2050، إذا ما استمر تغير المناخ دون رادع، وفشلنا في الاستثمار في جهود جريئة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ والتخفيف من حدته. وحتى اليوم، تطغي على عناوين وسائل إعلامنا أخبار عن الفيضانات وحرائق الغابات وموجات الحر “غير المسبوقة”. إذا كان الوضع الطبيعي الجديد الذي نواجهه هو التعامل مع أحداث “غير مسبوقة”، فما الذي نفعله كشبكة إنسانية لمضاعفة جهودنا؟

وخلال مؤتمر قمة الاتحاد الدولي بشأن المناخ الذي عقد يومي 9 و10 سبتمبر، استمعنا إلى دعوة قوية من شبكة الصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر لاتخاذ إجراءات. وقد جمع مؤتمر المناخ أكثر من 10 آلاف مشارك خلال 30 ساعة عُقدت خلالها 200 جلسة تقريبا. وبيّن المؤتمر الآثار الهائلة والمتعددة الأوجه لتغير المناخ والدور الهام الذي تلعبه الجمعيات الوطنية للصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر في الميدان للحد من المخاطر ومعالجة آثارها. وكان أحد الأهداف الرئيسية للقمة هو دعم طموحنا لمعالجة عواقب أزمة المناخ بشكل أفضل، ولا سيما من خلال تفعيل الالتزامات التي تم التعهد بها في المؤتمر الدولي الثالث والثلاثين للصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر وفي استراتيجية الاتحاد الدولي للعقد 2030، والتي تضع “أزمتي المناخ والبيئة” على رأس قائمة من خمسة تحديات عالمية يجب التصدي لها في العقد المقبل ، وكذلك في الاستراتيجية المؤسسية للجنة الدولية للفترة 2019-2022 التي تتضمن التكيف مع العواقب المتداخلة للنزاعات والصدمات المناخية كأحد أهدافها الرئيسية.

وفي العام الماضي، في المؤتمر الدولي الثالث والثلاثين، قام الاتحاد الدولي واللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر والجمعيات الوطنية والدول، بتسليط الضوء على الآثار الإنسانية لأزمة المناخ، وربطوا لأول مرة في التاريخ بين جداول الأعمال المتعلقة بالمناخ والشؤون الإنسانية من خلال حدث افتراضي جمع بين مؤتمر الأطراف الخامس والعشرين في اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ في مدريد والمؤتمر الدولي في جنيف.

كما جسّد الاتحاد الدولي واللجنة الدولية ومجموعة من الجمعيات الوطنية التزاماتهم بصياغة وثيقة “طموح الحركة لمعالجة أزمة المناخ“، وقطعوا تعهدا جديدا بشأن تعزيز قدرة المجتمعات المحلية على مواجهة تغير المناخ وتدهور البيئة من خلال العمل الإنساني المراعي للمناخ. ويُعبر هذا التعهد عن طموح شركاء الحركة في تحسين عملنا من خلال دمج المخاطر المناخية المتغيرة بشكل منهجي في الطريقة التي نخطط بها برامجنا وعملياتنا بحيث لا تأخذنا الأحداث “غير المسبوقة” على حين غرة، بل أن نكون متأهبين بشكل جيد لتوقع الصدمات المناخية والمخاطر قبل وقوعها. وبالمثل، التزمنا بأن نلقي نظرة جادة في مراعاة البيئة في ممارستنا الخاصة (تخضيرها)، والحد من تأثيرنا على البيئة والمناخ.

ولكن، لا يمكن أن نحقق أكثر من ذلك بعملنا وسلوكنا. وبالإضافة إلى الدعوة إلى اتخاذ تدابير أكثر طموحا للتخفيف من آثار تغير المناخ، أمامنا الآن فرصة، وربما واجب، السعي إلى تحسين ممارسات النظام الإنساني الأوسع نطاقا. ونرى أن الوقت قد حان لإكمال مدونة قواعد السلوك لحركة الصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر الدولية والمنظمات غير الحكومية في مجال الإغاثة في حالات الكوارث لسنة 1994، بالتزامات واضحة وبسيطة وتطلعية بشأن المناخ والبيئة يمكن أن تسترشد بها الأوساط الإنسانية.

وهناك عدة أدوات عملية لتمكين المنظمات الإنسانية من استخدام التنبؤات العلمية على نحو أفضل في آجال زمنية مختلفة، والحد من الأثر البيئي للأعمال الإنسانية وانبعاثات غازات الدفيئة الناجمة عنها. ولكن لا توجد وثيقة بسيطة تجمع بين الالتزامات الرئيسية لأوساط المساعدة الإنسانية بشأن المناخ والبيئة. ولذلك، التزمنا في تعهدنا بوضع ميثاق بشأن المناخ والبيئة بالتعاون مع المنظومة الإنسانية الأوسع نطاقا ومن أجله.

بعد مناقشات أولية مع لجنة توجيهية تتكون من المنظمات والشبكات الإنسانية، وخبراء المناخ والبيئة، واصلنا النقاش في مؤتمر المناخ حيث فتحنا باب الحوار أمام كل الجمعيات الوطنية، وعقدنا جلسات تُرجمت إلى اللغات الإنجليزية والفرنسية والإسبانية والعربية. وفي الأشهر المقبلة، سنطلب مساهمات من جميع مكونات الحركة والقطاع الإنساني الأوسع للمساعدة في تشكيل هذا “المعيار” الجديد لأوساطنا الإنسانية.

وبيّن تقرير الاتحاد الدولي لسنة 2019 بشأن عواقب عدم اتخاذ أي إجراءات، إنه إذا تم اتخاذ إجراءات مناسبة للتكيف مع المناخ الآن، فإن عدد الأشخاص الذين يحتاجون إلى المساعدة الإنسانية بسبب أزمة المناخ يمكن أن يستقر بل وأن ينخفض. ومع ذلك، علينا أن نتخذ إجراءات الآن. ولكي نتمكن من مواجهة هذا التحدي، فعلينا أن نحسّن ممارستنا بشكل جماعي وأن نضمن تحسين تجهيز النظام الإنساني واستعداده لمواجهة أزمة المناخ.


للمزيد من المعلومات عن هذا الموضوع

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

لا يمكن تحميل اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر والاتحاد الدولي لجمعيات الصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر واللجنة الدائمة للصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر، بصفتها الجهاز المفوض من قبل المؤتمر الدولي للصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر (المؤتمر)، بأي شكل كان المسؤولية عن أي محتوى أو مشاركات منشورة من قبل المستخدمين في قاعدة البيانات هذه. يحتفظ فريق الموقع الالكتروني بحق إزالة أي مشاركة أو محتوى في حال تنافيا مع المبادئ الأساسية للحركة الدولية للصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر و / أو مع أهداف المؤتمر.

Open pledges will remain open for signature until 31 December 2020

A Climate for Change: Towards a Humanitarian Climate and Environment Charter

October 2020
By Catherine-Lune Grayson
Policy Adviser, International Committee of the Red Cross;

Tessa Kelly
Climate Change Coordinator, International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies.


Abstract

The number of people in need of humanitarian assistance due to the climate crisis today has reached an unprecedented level. As more than 51.6 million individuals have been recorded to be directly affected by floods, droughts or storms, it is all the more crucial for the humanitarian sector to react and come up with pressing solutions. In this regard, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement has demonstrated the important role it has on the ground in reducing risks and addressing the impacts of climate change. With important events ranging from last year’s 33rd International Conference, to the more recent Climate: Red Summit on 9-10 September, the Red Cross Red Crescent network has demonstrated its preparedness to anticipate climate shocks and hazards before they hit. As “unprecedented” events are becoming the new normal, it is now more crucial than ever to take appropriate climate adaptation action.


The Story

The impacts of climate change have continued to be felt throughout 2020, as COVID-19 was spreading, dramatically affecting people’s health and lives. From cyclones in the Pacific and typhoons in Asia, to hurricanes in the Americas, heatwaves and wildfires in Europe and California, and flooding in Africa – the climate crisis has far from stopped in the midst of a pandemic, leaving us with no choice but to address the humanitarian impacts of both crises simultaneously. Recent IFRC and Red Cross Red Crescent Climate Centre research shows that at least 51.6 million people globally have been recorded as directly affected by an overlap of floods, droughts or storms and the COVID-19 pandemic. Additionally, it is estimated that over 430 million people across the world have been exposed to extreme heat during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Climate change is driving and exacerbating risks and affecting all dimensions of people’s lives, from their safety, to their health, to their access to water or food, to their livelihoods. The most vulnerable communities are on the frontlines. Climate change has therefore moved from being a purely “environmental” issue to one that is driving and requiring urgent humanitarian action. Last year, IFRC analysis revealed that the number of people needing life-saving international humanitarian assistance could double by 2050, if climate change goes unchecked and we fail to invest in bold adaptation and mitigation efforts. Even today, our news headlines are filled with updates of “unprecedented” floods, wildfires and heatwaves. If our new normal is to deal with “unprecedented” events, how are we as a humanitarian network stepping up?

During the IFRC’s Climate: Red Summit on 9-10 September, we heard a resounding call to action from the Red Cross Red Crescent network. Convening more than 10,000 participants, over 30 jam-packed hours with some 200 sessions, the Climate: Red Summit demonstrated the enormous and multi-faceted impacts of climate change and the important role that National Red Cross Red Crescent Societies are playing on the ground in reducing risks and addressing impacts. One of the key goals of the Summit was to “put wind in the sails” of our ambition to better tackle the consequences of the climate crisis, in particular through operationalizing the commitments made at the 33rd International Conference of the Red Cross and Red Crescent and in IFRC’s Strategy 2030, which places the ‘climate and environmental crises’ at the top of a list of five global challenges that must be addressed in the coming decade, as well as in ICRC’s 2019-2022 Institutional Strategy that includes adaptation to the combined consequences of conflict and climate shocks as one of its key objectives.

Last year, at the 33rd International Conference, the IFRC, ICRC, National Societies and states put the spotlight on the humanitarian impacts of the climate crisis and, for the first time in history, connected the climate and humanitarian agendas through a virtual event that brought together the UNFCC COP25 in Madrid and the International Conference in Geneva.

The IFRC, ICRC and a collection of National Societies also put their commitments to paper, drafting the Movement Ambitions to Address the Climate Crisis, and entering into a new pledge on Strengthening the resilience of communities to climate change & environmental degradation through climate-smart humanitarian action. This pledge articulates the ambitions of Movement partners to improve our work by systematically integrating changing climate risks into the way we plan our programmes and operations so that we are no longer caught off guard by “unprecedented” events, but well prepared to anticipate climate shocks and hazards before they hit. Equally, we committed to take a hard look at greening our own practice and to reduce our impact on the environment and the climate.

Our own work and behaviour, however, can only go so far. In addition to calling for more ambitious mitigation measures, we have the opportunity, and perhaps the duty, to seek to improve the practice of the broader humanitarian system. We feel it is time to complement the 1994 Code of Conduct for the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement and Non-Governmental Organizations in Disaster Relief with clear, simple and aspirational commitments on climate and the environment that can guide the humanitarian community.

There are several practical tools to enable humanitarian organizations to better use scientific forecasts at different timescales and to reduce the environmental impact and greenhouse gas emissions of humanitarian operations. But there is no simple document that brings together key commitments for the humanitarian community on climate and the environment. We therefore committed in our pledge to developing a charter on climate and environment with and for the broader humanitarian system.

Following initial discussions with a steering committee made up of humanitarian organizations and networks, and climate and environment experts, we took the discussion to the Climate: Red Summit. There, we opened up the conversation to all National Societies, convening sessions that were interpreted in English, French, Spanish and Arabic. In the coming months, we will seek contributions from across the Movement and the broader humanitarian sector to help shape this new “benchmark” for our humanitarian community.

As IFRC’s 2019 Cost of Doing Nothing report showed, if appropriate climate adaptation action is taken now, the number of people in need of humanitarian assistance due to the climate crisis could stabilize and even drop. But the time to act is now. And in order to be able to step up to that challenge, we need to collectively improve our practice and ensure the humanitarian system is more equipped and prepared to face the climate crisis.


More about this topic:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The International Committee of the Red Cross, the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies, and the Standing Commission of the Red Cross and Red Crescent, in its function as Trustee of the International Conference of the Red Cross and Red Crescent (the Conference), cannot be held responsible or liable in any manner for any user-generated content or posts on this Database. In the event that the Website team considers any post or content to be incompatible with the Fundamental Principles of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement and/or with the objectives of the Conference, it reserves the right to remove such content.